Why I Disagree With All Five Points of Calvinism

By Dr. Curtis Hutson


The term "Calvinism" is loosely used by some people who do not hold Calvin's teaching on predestination and do not understand exactly what Calvin taught.

Dr. Loraine Boettner in his book, "The Reformed Doctrine of Predestination" says,

"The Calvinistic system especially emphasizes five distinct doctrines. These are technically known as "The Five Points of Calvinism". And they are the main pillars upon which the superstructure rests."

Dr. Boettner further says,

"The five points may be more easily remembered if they are associated with the word T-U-L-I-P , T, Total Inability; U, Unconditional Election; L, Limited Atonement; I, Irresistible (efficacious) Grace; and P, Perseverance of the Saints."

These are the points of Calvinism.

I have heard preachers say, "I am a one-point Calvinist."

I have heard others say, "I am a two- or three-point Calvinist."

I want us to look at all five points of Calvinism as taught by John Calvin, then see what the Bible has to say on each point.

Table of Contents:

I. Total Inability

II. Unconditional Election

III. Limited Atonement

IV. Irresistible Grace

V. Perseverance of the Saints


The Fundamental Top 500